People

Senior Research Team 

Dr Alpa Shah (Programme Director)
Reader in Anthropology, London School of Economics and Political Science.
A.M.Shah@lse.ac.uk

Dr Jens Lerche
Reader in Agrarian and Labour Studies, School of Oriental and African Studies.
jl2@soas.ac.uk

Professor Jonathan Parry
Emeritus Professor of Anthropology, London School of Economics and Political Science.
J.P.Parry@lse.ac.uk

Professor Barbara Harriss-White
Senior Research Fellow, School of Interdisciplinary Area Studies, Oxford.
barbara.harris-white@qeh.ox.ac.uk

Dr Clarinda Still
Department Lecturer in Modern Indian Studies, School of Interdisciplinary Area Studies. Oxford.
clarinda.still@area.ox.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Fellows

Dr Richard Axelby
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Inequality Poverty Research Programme, Anthropology, LSE.
R.Axelby@lse.ac.uk

Dr Dalel Benbabaali
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Inequality Poverty Research Programme, Anthropology, LSE.
d.benbabaali@lse.ac.uk

Dr Jayaseelan Raj
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Inequality Poverty Research Programme, Anthropology, LSE.
J.Raj@lse.ac.uk

Dr Vikramaditya Thakur
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Inequality Poverty Research Programme, Anthropology, LSE.
v.thakur1@lse.ac.uk

Dr Brendan Donegan
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Inequality Poverty Research Programme, Anthropology, LSE.
B.Donegan@lse.ac.uk

Advisors

Professor Jan Breman
Extraordinary Professor of Development Sociology, Institute of Social Studies, Hague.

Simon Chambers
Independent Film Maker.

Dr Isabelle Guérin
Research Fellow, Research Unit Development and Societies, Paris I Sorbonne. Institute of Research for Development, Provence University.

Dr Judith Heyer
Senior Research Associate, School of Interdisciplinary Area Studies, Oxford.

Dr Nicolas Jaoul
CNRS Researcher, Centre for Studies in India and South Asia Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales.

Professor Patricia Jeffery
Professor (Emerita), Sociology, University of Edinburgh.

Professor K P Kannan
Honorary Professor of Development Economics, Institute of Human Development, New Delhi.

Dr Bengt Karlsson
Associate Professor and Head of Department of Social Anthropology, Stockholm University.

Professor Matthew McCartney
School of Interdisciplinary Area Studies, Oxford.

Dr Orlanda Ruthven
Independent Consultant.

Professor Kalyanakrishnan Sivaramakrishnan
Dinakar Singh Professor of India & South Asian Studies Professor of Anthropology and Forestry & Environmental Studies Co-Director, Program in Agrarian Studies; Chair, South Asian Studies Council Yale University.

Professor Ravi Srivastava
Professor. Centre for the Study of Regional Development, Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi.

Professor Anand Teltumbde
School of Management, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharkakpur.

Visiting and Associate Fellows

Dr Alice Tilche
Leverhulme Visiting  Fellow.

Dr Dan Hirslund
Visiting Fellow.

Dr Nasir Uddin
Visiting Fellow.

Professor John Harriss
Visiting Professor.

For all enquiries, please contact the Programme Coordinator Dee Chanter