2009-10

Treason of the Clerks: Modernists, Postmodernists, and the Delusions of European Exceptionalism

Thursday, 29 April 2010|

Maurice Fraser

The Legacy of John Rawls

Thursday, 18 March 2010|

Catherine Audard

Refiguring Citizenship: Rome – Athens – Istanbul

Thursday, 18 March 2010|

This event was jointly organised with European Alternatives
7.00-8.30pm | Thursday 18 March 2010
Institut Français, 17 Queensberry Place, South Kensington, SW7

The status of citizenship may be undergoing a historic transformation, perhaps nowhere more than in Europe. With the increased mobility of peoples, and numerous social and economic developments beyond the level of the nation state, Europe faces a series of […]

The Habermas-Rawls Dispute Reconsidered

Thursday, 11 March 2010|

Catherine Audard /  J. G. Finlayson

The Neoliberal Subject: on Foucault’s The Birth of Biopolitics (1979)

Wednesday, 10 March 2010|

Miguel de Beistegui

‘Who are you?’ Debating Judith Butler

Thursday, 4 March 2010|

Pamela Sue Anderson

The Neoliberal Subject: on Foucault’s The Birth of Biopolitics (1979)

Wednesday, 3 March 2010|

Miguel de Beistegui

Peter Hacker in conversation with Severin Schroeder

Wednesday, 24 February 2010|

Peter Hacker / Severin Schroeder

Citizenship after Orientalism

Thursday, 18 February 2010|

Engin F. Isin

Demos Unbounded: Democracy Beyond the Nation

Thursday, 18 February 2010|

Kalypso NicolaÏdis

Hegel, Freedom and Trust

Thursday, 18 February 2010|

Stephen Houlgate

Counter-Composition: Conversations on Ethics

Wednesday, 17 February 2010|

Alex Voorhoeve / Steve Pyke

Literature and the Academic: Literature as a resource for other disciplines

Friday, 12 February 2010|

Richard Bronk / Margot Finn / Neil Vickers

Dance, Text, and Translation: Creating a Dialogue

Friday, 12 February 2010|

Jasmin Vardimon / Helen Thomas

Civitas and Empire

Thursday, 21 January 2010|

Gilbert Achcar