LSE - Small Logo
LSE - Small Logo

Screen shot 2014-04-10 at 10.54.02Polis Annual Journalism Conference 2014

Friday March 28th, 2014

Click here for audio podcasts of the sessions

Find here the 2014 Polis Journalism Conference Schedule.

Twitter hashtag: #Polis2014
The conference will be live-tweeted from @PolisLSE@MediaLSE, and @nuqsh . Follow Polis Director Charlie Beckett at @CharlieBeckett.

The theme of this year’s Polis Annual Journalism conference is Transparency and Accountability. The day will cover everything from whether the Guardian is right to publish the Snowden files to how the UK’s press should be held to account.

It is our fifth conference and #Polis14 will be bigger and better than ever before.

There will be around 50 journalists speaking as well as academics, politicians, lawyers and activists. There will be keynote speeches, conversations and panel debates in the main hall. And we will have two other parallel venues for workshops, debates and presentations on all aspects of transparency and accountability journalism.

We invite anyone with an interest in news media to attend – it’s free and we provide sandwiches and drinks. We will also have free networking drinks from 16.45, at the end of the conference.

If you have a journalism start-up idea, a new tool or innovation and you’d like to showcase it for free then get in touch.

Email us at

You can keep up with Polis by following either @CharlieBeckett or @PolisLSE on Twitter or email to sign up for our newsletter. We’re also on Facebook and Tumblr.

We are grateful to the support from the Knight Foundationthe BBC Academy and the European Broadcasting Union, as well as Leuchtturm1917.

Register for free tickets for the conference here.

Find here our press release for the conference.

List of confirmed speakers:

Alan Rusbridger, Editor, the Guardian
Krishnan Guru-Murthy, Channel 4 News
Ian Katz, Editor, BBC Newsnight
Cathy Newman, Presenter, Channel 4 News
Tom Giles, Editor, BBC Panorama
David Aaronovitch, Index on Censorship
Stewart Purvis, City University
James Dean, Investigative Reporter, The Times
Anne McElvoy, BBC and The Economist
Annette Dittert, ARD
Michael Crick, Channel 4 News
Ed Lucas, The Economist
Steve Hewlett, BBC Media Show
Thomas Hughes, Article 19
Ray Colgan, Eurovision News
Cilla Benkö, Swedish Radio
Susanne Gelhard, ZDF
Jukka Niva, YLE TV
Barbara Serra, Al Jazeera English
Richard Gizbert, Al Jazeera Listening Post
Eric Newton, Knight Foundation
George Brock, City University
Richard Sambrook, Cardiff University
Angela Phillips, Goldsmith University
Samantha Barry, BBC
Sarah Marshall, Wall Street Journal
Will Moy, FullFact
Luke Lewis, Buzzfeed UK
Laurie Penny, New Statesman
Rosie Waterhouse, City University
Mark Watts, Exaro
Solomon Hughes, Private Eye
Alice Ross, Bureau of Investigative Journalism
Eleanor Mills, Sunday Times
Camilla Long, Sunday Times
Mike Mullane, Eurovision
Kamila Varadzinová, Czech Radio
Jaakko Alasaarela, ZEF
Rasha Qandeel, BBC
Fatima El Issawi,  Polis
Reem Maged, ONtv Egypt
Sue Llewellyn, social media consultant
Paul Myers, Internet Research Clinic
Cordelia Hebblethwaite, BBC  Trending
Dr Claire Wardle, Tow Center Research Fellow
Paul Bradshaw, City University
Lyra McKee, Investigative reporter
Jonathan Stray, Columbia University
Mark Thompson, Open Society Foundations

PositionDial: Mariam Cook
Sourcefabric: Daniel James
Cura: Wessel van Rensburg
Curator: Daniel Nordh
The News Hub:  William Stolerman
ShouldWe:  George Bevis

You can see the schedule and video from last year’s conference here.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Sign up to the Polis Newsletter