LSE - Small Logo
LSE - Small Logo

Karina Moxon

October 2nd, 2018



Estimated reading time: 5 minutes

Karina Moxon

October 2nd, 2018



Estimated reading time: 5 minutes

This year the LSE UPR launched its inaugural essay competition, aimed at incoming or outgoing year 12s and 13s (or equivalent), to give them real experience in writing an academic essay.

Our team put together a list of five questions, which were superbly tackled by over 75 students.

  1. Is war and conflict an inevitable feature of global politics?
  2. Thomas Jefferson once said “the cornerstone of democracy rests on the foundation of an educated electorate”. With the rise of fake news, historically low voter turnouts, and populist angst, to what extent is Jefferson correct regarding democracy in the twenty-first century?
  3. What are the effects of the rise of China on the present world order?
  4. Has Brexit fundamentally changed the traditional voting patterns of the British electorate?
  5. You have been hired as a policy consultant by 10 Downing Street to develop one policy. What policy would you implement, and why?   Explain the reasoning behind your choice, keeping policy choice and explanation clear. One example for this question would be: choosing to raise the minimum wage, and justifying this politically, socially and economically.

These questions required engagement with current affairs, critical reading, academic referencing and analytical writing – all of which was given an incredibly good effort by those who submitted.

After careful reading by our team of associate editors, we arrived at this year’s winners:

First place: Gabriel Brown – question two.

Second place: Dheevesh Mungroo – question one

Third place: Joseph McGrath – question three.

Over the coming weeks we will be posting all three pieces as a showcase of great pre-university academic research!

We would also like to offer our further congratulations to all who participated. The hard work and effort put into all submissions was clear to the whole UPR Team.

Highly commended

Anna Monro

Anya Lonergan

Callum Parris

Chang Lee

Edward Polley

Faye Thompson

Frankie Romer

Harjyot Anand

Harriet Rimell

Iqra Jan

James Lenton

Lara Blackett

Lily Young

Mia Bowles

Tom Clemmet

Yasemin Senai

Yu Na Choi

Further entries

Aaron Stevens

Adam Stowe

Amogh Patil

Andrew Irungu

Anna McAlinden

Arjun Pai

Billy Pearson

Billy Hohnen-Ford

Bonnie Liang

Brian Byrne

Charlotte Earl

Chloe Warman

Constantin Seibt

Daniel Riches

Danish Arora

Dheevesh Mungroo

Ella Grant

Frederick Alldridge

Gabriel Brown

George Cook

Hannah Riley

Isabel Weston

Jacob Scalco

Jamie Mathieson

Jamie Greenfield

Freddie Hill

Jess Burkes

Joseph Garcia Ben

Joseph McGrath

Joshua Maisey

Kaylin Plant

Kripa Shah

Maria Rotaru

Martina Piras

Milad Sherzad

Muaaz Atta

Nathan Barnard

Nathan Barnard

Neha Yadav

Nicholas-Alan McCoy

Niralee Shah

Peter Spoerri

Pramann Mahboobani

Pruksara Phumimuang

Qifeng He

Rachael Bondzie

Rachel Murray

Rebecca Kidd

Richard Briggs

Ross Sinclair

Sam Shulman

Samuel Rodgers

Shumraze Fawad

Tabitha Boyton

Tetiana Toma

Tharun Thiruseelan

Thomas Whittingham

Tim Hannon


Please follow us on Twitter and Facebook to keep up to date with opportunities to engage with academic research. 

The UPR team would also like to extend an invitation for all to attend our 2018 Conference, taking place on November 22nd, 6.30-8.30 at LSE.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author

Karina Moxon

3rd year Bsc Government and History student and Editor-in-Chief of the LSE UPR.

Posted In: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Posts & Pages