LSE - Small Logo
LSE - Small Logo

Welcome to the British Politics and Policy blog

BPP is a multidisciplinary academic blog run by the London School of Economics and Political Science. Our central aim is to increase the public understanding of British politics and policy by providing accessible academic commentary and research. We have no editorial “line” beyond a commitment to communicating social science research and commentary in ways that enhance public debate and understanding.

Managing Editor

Alexis PapazoglouĀ 

Alexis has been managing editor of the blog since February 2024. He was previously the senior editor for the online magazine of the Institute of Art and Ideas. Prior to that he was a philosophy lecturer at Royal Holloway and Cambridge University. He has written for The Guardian, The New Republic, The Atlantic, and WIRED among other publications. He was the producer and host of the podcast The Philosopher & The News from 2021 to 2023. Email:

Our Advisory Board

The Advisory Board steers the overall strategic direction of the blog, advises on content issues, and reviews performance annually. The board also sets the editorial priorities of the blog and contributes to ensuring the blog provides a platform for a broad range of ideas and perspectives, from a wide range of disciplines and expertise.


Tony Travers


Tony is Professor in Practice in the Department of Government and Director of LSE London


Patrick Dunleavy

Patrick is Professor of Political Science and Public Policy at LSE, where he has worked since 1979. He has published numerous books and over 50 journal articles on political science theory, British politics and urban politics.



Jonathan Hopkin

Jonathan is Professor of Comparative Politics in the Department of Government at LSE.



Lea Ypi

Lea is Professor of Political Theory at the London School of Economics and Political Science.



Neil Lee

Neil is Professor of Economic Geography in the Department of Geography and Environment at LSE.



Anne West

Anne West is Professor of Education Policy in the Department of Social Policy at LSE.

Receive our newsletter

Follow BPP on

Explore our sister blogs

Explore all our blogs

Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported
This work by British Politics and Policy at LSE is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported.