hannone

About the Forum

The Forum for European Philosophy is an educational charity which organises and runs a full and varied programme of philosophy and interdisciplinary events in the UK. Our events take various forms but we studiously avoid academic papers. Formats we like include dialogues, panel discussions, public lectures and provocations, all of which are open to the public and most of which are free.

Strong Feelings

Tuesday, 14 November 2017|

Luke Brunning/ Luna Dolezal/ MM McCabe

What Is Pain?

Monday, 13 November 2017|

Grant Duncan on the complexity of pain

The Politics of Mental Health

Wednesday, 8 November 2017|

Victoria Dutchman-Smith/ Emmy Eklundh/ Matthew Ratcliffe

Who Is a Refugee?

Monday, 30 October 2017|

Ahmad Al-Rashid/ Phillip Cole/ Elspeth Guild

Parallel Universes

Wednesday, 25 October 2017|

Fay Dowker/ Eleanor Knox / Simon Saunders

Thinking Small about the Ideal Society

Wednesday, 25 October 2017|

Brian Kogelmann on living better by living more apart

Do Electrons Dream of Electric Sheep?

Wednesday, 18 October 2017|

Philip Goff on panpsychism and the nature of matter

Digital Selves

Tuesday, 17 October 2017|

David Berry/ Legacy Russell/ Laurence Scott

Invasive Species

Friday, 13 October 2017|

Fred Pearce/ Chris Thomas/ Emma Townshend

Is Truth a Political Luxury?

Wednesday, 4 October 2017|

Julian Baggini on lies, damn lies, and political realities

Is Post-modernism to Blame for Our Post-truth World?

Tuesday, 3 October 2017|

Mark Currie/ Alison Gibbons/ James Ladyman/ Hilary Lawson

Unrequited Love

Tuesday, 26 September 2017|

Ulrika Carlsson/ Stephen Grosz/ Erin Plunkett

New term, new Fellows!

Monday, 4 September 2017|

Forum regulars will be sadden to learn that Peter Dennis, who served as a Fellow for three years, is heading for pastures new, to spread his philosophical wisdom beyond London.

Sartre Does God

Monday, 7 August 2017|

Kate Kirkpatrick on the variety of atheisms

Rocks and Hard Places

Monday, 24 July 2017|

Lisa Tessman on being required to do the impossible